Characters That Touched My Heart

I’ve always found characters to be the most important part of a story. I’m probably wrong to prioritise them, but when I read a book it’s not the setting or the plot that I fall in love with, it’s the characters. So without further ado, I present to you, my top four favourite characters of all time:

4. The Disreputable Dog – The Old Kingdom Trilogy

The Disreputable Dog

What’s better than a dog that can talk? Not much, but throw in a bucket of sarcasm and the ability to cast spells by barking and you’ve got a winning combination. The Disreputable Dog was loyal and her relationship with Lirael was heartfelt and I don’t think I cried so much at Marley and Me.

3. Severus Snape – Harry Potter

Severus Snape

Oh Snapey, Snapey Snape Snape. Snape was possibly the first character I ever fell in love with (or at least, the first character I remember falling in love with). Snape was, undoubtedly, the most well developed character in all of the Harry Potter books. Up until the very last minute it was almost impossible to tell who’s side he was really on and his memories contained some beautifully heart-felt scenes. He is the bravest man I ever knew.

2. Tyrion Lannister – A Song of Fire and Ice

Tyrion Lannister

Not quite on the top spot, Tyrion Lannister is that character who can always make you smile. He is instantly likeable, even loveable due his jokes and his somewhat surprising wisdom. He’s a whoring, hard-drinking, joking dwarf, what’s not to love? It doesn’t matter what he does, I’ll be rooting for him all the way.

1. Sand dan Glokta – The First Law

Sand dan GloktaI knew from his first chapter in The Blade Itself, that Glokta was going to be special. It’s rare that I become so attached to one character that I only want to read their parts, but this was the case with Glokta (luckily, I was listening to an audio book so skipped nothing). I was rooting for him from the off. He could do no wrong! There were so many emotions attached to his character, emotions that rubbed off on me as a reader. I became so involved with his character and I have never felt happier for someone than when Glokta got a girl. Steven Pacey’s excellent reading of the books only increased my love for Glokta as, when thinking, he did sound rather lovely.

Well, there you have it. Four mighty characters who touched my heart. Now I guess the only question remaining is, Who are your top four characters?

One response to “Characters That Touched My Heart

  1. Gotta love Tyrion and Snape!

Leave a Reply

